Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

Review: Mad Max Special Edition

DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Old 01-02-02, 04:59 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello all. I am new to DVDTalk, but I've been into DVD ever since it's debut. So, Happy New Year and all that Jazz to all of you!

I picked up Mad Max SE yesterday at BB, and couldn't wait to bring it home to watch. Like many lovers of this movie, I had both the VHS and bare bones DVD of this movie and longed for a great makeover. Whoa boy, did I get my wish

The Movie: Although many people will consider this movie to be "dated" but I just can't help but express nothing but love for it. Classic revenge plot with an awesome performance by Mel Gibson. I'm not one to spoil a film for anyone, so I suggest atleast picking it up for a rental if you haven't seen it yet. Like I said, many people consider this movie to be out of date, and with good reason...many scenes come straight from the cliche images of post nuclear war anarchist wastelands....almost. The majority of the movie takes place on the roads of Australia, in between towns and small cities. Plenty of stunt action, and the film doesn't drag at all. I hope more of you have some input on the movie. I'd love to hear opinions on it.