Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Dumb S-Video VCR questions (& other HT setup issues)

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Dumb S-Video VCR questions (& other HT setup issues)

Old 02-15-01, 11:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I am a novice in the middle of setting up my first home theatre system, with a low- to mid-range JVC DD/DTS receiver.

My first great discovery was that when I connected my old VCR (RCA outputs only) to my receiver via RCA cables, then the receiver would not send the signal to my TV over its main S-Video out. So I guess what I discovered is that it has to be an S-Video connection the entire way (from the VCR to the receiver, and from the receiver to the TV). Is this correct?

If it is correct, then what are my options? Should I just buy a RCA-to-S-Video cable to run from my VCR to the tuner OR should I buy a new VCR (I need one anyway) with an S-Video out? I read in another thread here that the RCA-to-S cables are either $20 for a cheap one (Radio Shack?) or $100 for a good one (Monster?) ... I'd hate to spend $100 on a converter cable!!! ... is the $20 one good enough? If I go with the new VCR w/ S-Video output, I have one other concern ... someone told me that it would not play tapes recorded on non-SVideo VCRs (i.e. - all the old tapes I've made on my old VCR). Is this true?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Actually ... while I'm asking a bunch of dumb questions, let me ask one more. The optical audio cable I connected between my Phillips DVD player and the JVC DD/DTS receiver does not seem to be working at all. I'm pretty sure that I have everything set up properly to work on my receiver ... is it possible that I need to "tell" my DVD player to send the audio output through the optical output (rather than the RCA audio outputs)? If not, the only other thing that I can think of is that I might have a bad optical cable???