Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

How to ground an antenna?

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 09-12-11, 11:43 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Does anyone here know (or know where to find, preferably online) simple and useable instructions on how to ground a TV antenna?

My searching so far has netted me squat from a simplicity and usability standpoint. Every site has incomplete, or contradictory, or obtuse information with broken links to seemingly pertinent info.

Thanks for any info.
Old 09-13-11, 10:01 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: How to ground an antenna?

I assume you mean an outdoor antenna, as anything inside the house should be ok without an extra house ground. I'm not an electrician, but I think this follows code properly:

Acquire a grounding block. Shouldn't break the bank. The coax runs through the block and grounds the antenna via the shield portion of the coax.

Install the grounding block outside, as close as possible to where the antenna wire goes into the house. If possible, locate the antenna wire entrance near the electric entrance* in the first place. (not TOO near) You may want to locate the block out of the weather somehow, or coat it in silicon after everything is attached. For example, phone and cable companies often put little boxes on your house to protect their connections from weather (and from you).