Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Tivo or Replay?

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-04, 04:28 PM
Suspended

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tivo or Replay?

I am new to this forum and I am interested in finding out what you all think of Tivo and its competitors. I am not very technically savvy, so I'd be curious to know which DVR is the best product for the best price, which one is the most user friendly, and which one will have a longer life - as in, it won't be upgraded in two weeks to a new and improved product, right after I dropped all this money? I have heard the cable company DVR's aren't very good and I have been researching Tivo and like some of the features it comes with. Other than that - what can you "experts" tell me?

I hope this isn't too repetitive of past discussions. Thanks!
Old 01-15-04, 04:43 PM
Suspended

I'm not that educated on this stuff...but I think TiVo is definitely a better product than Replay TV..from what i've heard and seen..i think tivo is definitely more user friendly and simpler...replay is really complicated and should be used for more techy people...that's my opinion
Old 01-15-04, 05:07 PM

http://www.pvrcompare.com/otherreviews.html

Depends on what you're looking for I guess. ReplayTV's do give you better visual quality though.
Old 01-15-04, 08:12 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 10 Likes on 1 Post
I have two TiVos... couldn't live without them!

-k
###
Old 01-15-04, 10:48 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Location: Madison, WI ("77 square miles surrounded by reality")
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Regardless of which one a particular person has (I have TiVo) all love theirs and those are the kinds of answers you'll get. I don't see how you could go wrong with either. Probably you should just compare prices and features and go with what seems best for you.
Old 01-16-04, 03:09 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Both are good products.