Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Pioneer Layer Change

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-00, 05:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hi,

I'm a complete DVD newbie and just have a quick question. Based on everyone's suggestion on this DVD board, I purchased a Pioneer DV-333 player yesterday. Well, I just finished watching "Any Given Sunday" and notice a slight pause where I loose sound and picture freezes for a second. What I don't know is if this is a problem with the player, the disc, or is this the layer change from 1 to 2. I just want to be sure because if there is a hardware problem, I want to exchange it for a player that works properly or is it the way the Dv-333 handles layer changes. For those of you who own the disc, this happens in chapter 1-26, at approx 88-26. Other than this, the player seems to work great. Thanks for the recommendations!!

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Old 11-13-00, 05:16 PM
X
Administrator

Received 154 Likes on 124 Posts
Sounds like a typical layer change. I'm not sure how long a Pioneer usually takes. Just make sure it always happens at the same spot, and not at multiple places on the same DVD.
Old 11-13-00, 09:03 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

i don't have that disc, so i don't know if it's the layer switch or not (someone else might be able to help with that)... but i have the dv-333. go to where that happens and watch the display on the player itself. if it's the layer switch it will very quickly flash something up on the display ("search" ? i'm really not even sure because i never really notice it except out of the corner of my eye if i'm looking for it)