Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Movie Talk
Reload this Page >

Survey: Who were the first directors you actively followed?

Community
Search
Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-12, 05:15 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 277 Likes on 212 Posts

I was reading two articles by major film commentators about how movies are dying (by David Thomson) and how Hollywood is killing them (by David Denby) and it occurred to me that there are just as many creative filmmakers working in Hollywood today who get younger film buffs excited about movies as there were when I was a newbie film buff 40 years ago. The only real difference is that the directors I liked back then averaged a film a year (e.g. Altman), while the ones you guys like today are lucky if they get one out every few years (e.g. Nolan, PT Anderson, Peter Jackson).

So I’m trying to get a sense of which directors were the first ones to fill you with a sense of awareness of a director’s role and function in the making of a film and the ones who inspired you to follow their work. So I’ve come up with these questions.

1) Name the first film directors you liked enough to actively follow. This could be from your early moviegoing in adolescence, high school, or college, or even adulthood—whenever you first became aware of film directors and developed a liking for one or more. And name at least one film for each that brought them to your attention.

2) Name the currently active directors whose work you follow.

3) Name the classic directors whose work you’ve sought out and explored to some degree. “Classic” can mean anything you think it means.

Thank you.

I’ll get the ball rolling.