Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Anime Talk
Reload this Page >

Recommend some stuff to a noob

Anime Talk Discuss Anime on DVD & Blu-Ray, CGI animations, Manga and other cool stuff from Japan!

Old 12-13-11, 01:36 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 228 Likes on 145 Posts

Was looking for a recommendations thread but didn't see one...

I'm relatively new to anime, so far having only seen Full Metal Alchemist (regular and brotherhood), and am 1/2 way through Speed Grapher, and seem to be enjoying it.

Not sure where to go once that's done, though. Can anyone recommend some good, mature stuff, that's available on Netflix watch it now (or insanely cheap box sets, like Speed Grapher was)?
Old 12-13-11, 03:51 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: Recommend some stuff to a noob

Cowboy Bebop and Neon Genesis Evangelion were very reasonably priced last I checked. Good (older, not-animated-on-computers) shows.

Last edited by dugan; 12-13-11 at 04:04 PM.
Old 12-13-11, 04:45 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 239 Likes on 175 Posts

Cowboy Bebop is essential. I would also recommend Samurai 7.
Old 12-13-11, 06:34 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Another for Cowboy Bebop here. I love FLCL for the music and style, but some people have an adverse reaction to it. Neon Genesis Evangelion is good if you like giant robots. I just saw Gai-Rei: Zero and really liked it as well.

Since you like Grapher I'd also try out Elfen Lied.

I tend to shy away from the cutesy harem or fan-service stuff. If you have a Blu player there are a few great sets for under $20 at Amazon.
Old 12-13-11, 06:56 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Gurren Lagann can also be had for cheap now. Awesome show. Same studio as FLCL and Evangelion.
Old 12-14-11, 12:39 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition