DVD Blowouts
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : Surround Sound Help Needed

Spottedfeather
10-03-11, 05:28 PM
I have never used surround before so I have a question. On the back of my blu-ray player, there are outputs : Front Left, Front Right, Surround Left, Surround right, and Center. They look to be RCA type plugs. The speaker system that I'm looking at also has these same inputs on the back. My question is....is there a special kind of cord that I need to connect the two ? Or just normal RCA audio cords ?

TomOpus
10-03-11, 07:18 PM
Check your owner's manual?

ATX
10-03-11, 08:43 PM
if your dvd player has those on the back they are preouts (for the built in surround decoder)

the best way you should connect your dvd sound is by using the optical/coax digital out and connecting to you a/v receiver (or hdmi for vid/sound to a/v receiver w/ hdmi switching)

Spottedfeather
10-03-11, 08:56 PM
Is there a 5.1 system that I could run the blu-ray player straight into without a receiver, or is that not possible ? I had the outputs of my machine wrong. It has an hdmi output as well as a coaxial digital out. It also has plain stereo outputs...which is what I'm using now.

HDMI switching ?

Numanoid
10-03-11, 09:20 PM
I assume that you don't have an audio system at present?

ATX
10-03-11, 09:40 PM
your defeating the whole burpose of having bluray

you cant hook a standard bluray/dvd player directly to speakers, their is no amplifier or speaker connections

you'll wanna get an a/v receiver... even a low cost onkyo or harman kardon model can do you well

you'll need at least 5 speakers (2 fronts/ 2 rears / center channel) and subwoofer .. maybe a small satellite system

Spottedfeather
10-03-11, 10:38 PM