Community
Search
TV Talk Talk about Shows on TV

Lost: Why no more 23 episodes?

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-10, 01:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lost: Why no more 23 episodes?

I have enjoyed Lost. I am new to the series and I watched all 4 seasons via Netflix on the Streaming service. I liked when Seasons 1 - 3 had a decent number of episodes. Season 4 only have 14 episodes which I read was because of the writer's strike but why is Season 5 and 6 only have 17 episodes. They could have more in the final season since the strike is over. What gives?
Old 01-24-10, 01:09 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Re: Lost: Why no more 23 episodes?

Originally Posted by PHMustang2000
I have enjoyed Lost. I am new to the series and I watched all 4 seasons via Netflix on the Streaming service. I liked when Seasons 1 - 3 had a decent number of episodes. Season 4 only have 14 episodes which I read was because of the writer's strike but why is Season 5 and 6 only have 17 episodes. They could have more in the final season since the strike is over. What gives?
The writer's set an end date and stated that they only had X amount of episodes of story left. I for one am thankful because the storylines have been way more focused since they made that decision. There aren't any more "filler" episodes.
Old 01-24-10, 01:13 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

After ABC and the producers agreed to a set end date for the series at the end of Season Three, one of the suggestions was to run each of the remaining series continuously with no breaks for holidays/repeats. So the original plan was three remaining seasons of 16 episodes each to avoid any breaks in flow of the series. 16 worked better for production costs and scheduling through late January to May.

The writer's strike shortened Season Four by two, so an episode was added to the runs of Season Five and Six. Subsequently, an 18th episode (well, another hour to the finale) has been added to Season Six as well.