Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Ps3 Trophy System?

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-10, 05:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ps3 Trophy System?

Can someone help explain exacty how the trophy system works?
I have read other forums where people are really into this and get angry over games which do not support trophies?
What aside from bragging rights do these serve?
I'm new to the Ps3 but I can't understand all the excitement over trophies...if the system is that trophies translates into PSN credit then that would be the only thing that makes sense to me...
Old 01-10-10, 06:06 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: Ps3 Trophy System?

Originally Posted by Damone
Can someone help explain exacty how the trophy system works?
I have read other forums where people are really into this and get angry over games which do not support trophies?
What aside from bragging rights do these serve?
I'm new to the Ps3 but I can't understand all the excitement over trophies...if the system is that trophies translates into PSN credit then that would be the only thing that makes sense to me...
They are just as useless as Xbox Gamerscore...nothing but bragging rights unfortunately.
Old 01-10-10, 06:08 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Location: Home of the 2009 Stanley Cup & Vince Lombardi trophy!!!

It's mostly bragging rights, but it also gives you an extra incentive to playthrough a game more 'completely', as it encourages you to go after some items/tasks that you may not have bothered with (again, bragging rights, I guess). To me, it helps you get more game for your buck. It's a pretty damn good feeling when you get every trophy/achievement point that is offered.

Disclaimer - I own a PS3 but don't play games on it. The above commentary is based on the comparative "360 Achievement Points".
Old 01-10-10, 06:20 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Nerd cred.
Old 01-10-10, 06:25 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition