Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

So What's so Great About Left 4 Dead?

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-09, 08:32 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
So What's so Great About Left 4 Dead?

I bought this game last year due to all the hype and great reviews. With the sequel coming out this week, I bumped it to my priority list, and played the game for the first time last week.

For awhile, I was impressed by the presentation. Zombie kills were good and messy, causing random blood splatter on the walls. Shining your flashlight into a dark room to see a horde come at you was stunning. However, the textures on the objects looked very last gen.

I started playing the single player, and quickly released that this is not a true single player game. There are no cut scenes, no story, no feeling of progression. It is just a collection of short levels. I gave multiplayer a try, and it was fun for awhile then very repetitious. All you do is just shoot and run. The weapons felt wimpy. I got no real feeling of accomplishment.

I understand the appeal of a multiplay online shooter, but games like BF1943 offer numerous options beyond just run and gun. I experienced all the game had to offer within a few hours. Needless to say, I won't be buying the sequel.
Old 11-16-09, 08:38 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Re: So What's so Great About Left 4 Dead?

Frankly the fact it is just a run and gun is why I like it. You can sit down, run through a level in about 30-45min and then move on to something else. No grand strategies you have to try to work out w/ people, usually no PvP (unless you play the 8 player version or get an asshole in the group) which in turn usually means very little trash talk and all the other garbage that's turned me away from the other online games. I agree there's not much to it, but I still enjoy it and am looking forward to the sequel. Each to their own...
Old 11-16-09, 08:40 AM