Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Comic Book Talk
Reload this Page >

"Robin" "Nightwing" and "BOP" cancelled?!?

Community
Search
Comic Book Talk The Place to talk about Comics

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-09, 12:03 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

OK, so I'm a grad student with little time to read for fun, so I'm like 3 years behind or something ridiculous like that, and I only buy the Bat titles at this point (other than the Ultimate Spidey Hardcovers), so I don't claim to be in the know regarding comics like I used to be, but when I opened up my comics from NewForce today (I get them via mail), I was floored to see the "Final Issue" notice on several books.

Are you fucking kidding me? I remember buying the first issue of Robin, and I got into Nightwing and Birds of Prey later on via trades.

First they shitcan Chuck Dixon and now they cancel the books altogether? Ugh.

/rant

At least now I have a new number 1 to look for at some point, I suppose. That'll make it all better...

Anyway, as an aside, I'm hoping to catch up on my reading this summer, after my qualifying exams are done; are there good sites that list the DC crossovers--like, the issues I need to read the whole stories and the proper order for those issues? I've found some sparse info in a variety of places, but I'm assuming there's a depository somewhere on the 'net.
Old 04-14-09, 02:00 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: "Robin" "Nightwing" and "BOP" cancelled?!?

I wasn't reading Robin or Nightwing regularly, but they didn't cancel Birds of Prey - they just put it out of its misery. It was an act of mercy. The book went downhill really fast after Gail Simone and Nicola Scott left to do Secret Six. It wasn't really the same after Black Canary left the cast.