Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Quick question about the Panasonic DMP-BD55K player?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-08, 09:50 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am not very good with electronics. When I buy stuff, I usually have to pay someone to set things up. So, that's pretty bad.

I'm planning to get rid of my 57" crt with a 58" plasma in March thanks in large part to a bonus I'm getting from work.

Still, that will leave me with 6 year old very average jvc speakers and receiver to replace.

I will probably have to spread those out. 3 months after the tv, I'll upgrade again, and then 3 months I'll finish things up.

In the meantime, I don't get to hear my BD with any of the HD sound. This player claims that using an analog jack you can plug it into an old receiver and this player will give me TrueHD and DTS Master Audio.

Is that really possible? My receiver wasn't even built to accept those kinds of signals but the player will somehow do all the work and my receiver will be able to handle it and pass it through to my speakers? Have I got that right?

I was planning to have my receiver do the decoding, I thought you needed one with HDMI to get the best HD sounds, but this says no.

Also, I realize if this is true that because my receiver and speakers are very average that I won't be getting the best of these HD sounds anyway. But I did mention I will be upgrading, so this is temporary with the knowledge that the reviews on the player are great anyway.

I just have no need for it today if I'm not understanding this correctly and my old receiver won't be able to give me HD sounds whether or not the player is decoding them.

I'm also confused about it needing to be hooked up by analog. Is that worse than digital or optical or no different?

Thanks.
Old 11-28-08, 12:07 AM
DVD Talk Legend