Reload this Page >

Beast Rider, or why I hate Play magazine

Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Old 10-20-08, 10:35 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

OK, I need to rant. I struggled with whether I should post or not and in the end, I decided, "what the hell?"

Disclaimer: I am a journalist/public relations person by career, so I am very critical of writing, specifically magazines and newspapers. I've always thought the majority of game journalism was shit.

Disclaimer 2: I have no plans to ever play Golden Axe: Beast Rider, positive or negative reviews.

So, I came across Joystiq's recent Metareview on Golden Axe:
http://www.joystiq.com/2008/10/20/me...rider-360-ps3/

And, as they pointed out, one review seems glaringly different from the others:
http://www.playmagazine.com/index.ph..._ID=884&page=2

I had only needed to see the score to know what magazine and what writer this review came from: Dave Halverson at Play. I bought the first issues of Play and quickly became a hater, especially of Dave. The whole magazine reeks of a pompous, egotistical attitude and this review supports that ... oh, and of course, boobs. Because that seems to be the editorial staff's single criteria for a good game there. Even as a man I was often offended by some of their writers.

Of course, this isn't the first time I've seen Dave or Play's scores vary widely from the rest of the gaming world. Now, it is possible to like a game when others didn't, or dislike one when others did. But is it enough to just admit that on this game your tastes differ? No. Dave blames it on everyone else:
http://www.playmagazine.com/index.ph...ge&Game_ID=887

Now, I did say earlier I thought most game journalism was shit. But this type of attitude that Dave puts out has always been worse to me than any 12-year-old reviewer writing crappy, half-assed rants and raves on another gaming site.