Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Suggestions for getting into classical music?

Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Old 01-07-08, 04:49 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 229 Likes on 163 Posts

What are some good CDs for a complete newbie? Any good compilation CDs? Any single-composer CDs?
Old 01-07-08, 08:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Maybe not what you are looking for BUT my friend Sean Kelly just released a classical guitar album called "The #1 Classical Guitar Album". You can check it out here......... http://www.numberoneguitar.com
Old 01-07-08, 09:58 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Not sure what you're looking for, but I would start with the usual suspects - Mozart, Beethoven, Bach, Chopin, Tchaikovsky, etc. There's a Very Best of series of CDs out now.

I personally like Mozart and Beethoven.
Old 01-07-08, 11:38 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 99 Likes on 79 Posts
Originally Posted by GatorDeb
What are some good CDs for a complete newbie? Any good compilation CDs? Any single-composer CDs?
Carmina Burana by Orff
Old 01-08-08, 07:58 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Eh, by "classical music" do you mean music from the classical period, or any music pre 1900s? The actual classical period only dates from around 1730ish - 1820ish.

If you just mean "pretty music written by old white guys" when you say classical, I would try a composer or two from each of the major periods of music to see what style you actually like. I tend to like the late renaissance period into the early baroque. Most of the composers in the Romantic period are also gold as well. Classical is actually my least favorite era, far too much structure and too simple for my tastes.

Last edited by Decadance; 01-08-08 at 08:03 AM.
Old 01-08-08, 09:25 AM