DVD Talk
Finding the mimumim sale price for a car when selling to family? [Archive] - DVD Talk Forum

Best Sellers
The Longest Day
Buy: $54.99 $24.99
DVD Blowouts
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : Finding the mimumim sale price for a car when selling to family?

Th0r S1mpson
03-28-07, 01:36 PM
I have used KBB, but if purchasing a car from a family member, where does one look for the minimum value that can be used for that model to minimize sales tax on the transaction, etc?

My understanding is that when the car is taken in for licensing etc etc for the new owner, that information will need to be presented and it will have to line up with some sort of industry standard.

I'm fairly new to this, so may my understanding is off a bit. Any help?

Numanoid
03-28-07, 01:37 PM
I've sold cars to friends for $1. I don't believe there has to be a minimum price based on worth.

Minor Threat
03-28-07, 01:51 PM
I've sold cars to friends for $1. I don't believe there has to be a minimum price based on worth.

ditto.....

The Bus
03-28-07, 01:51 PM
Depends on state regulations. You can write the sale price of the car but have to pay some tax. You can write the wrong transfer, which would be illegal.

Use some mix of KBB, Edmund's, Automotive.com, and what Uncle Freddy thinks.

4KRG
03-28-07, 02:09 PM
Thor - you should check on how your state handles this, if they really don't "enforce it" (meaning a low value immediately sets off a flag) then you can sell the car for whatever you want. Sure it might be against the law, but define the word "is" for me :)

or you can sell the car to them for $1 and the tires for $2000 each as a separate transaction :)

No one claims the car is in perfect working order when it is sold (ie. what blue book value is based on) so no one can argue your car was worth full blue book.

satellite
03-28-07, 02:13 PM

same here - there is no minimum in my state.

Morf
03-28-07, 02:18 PM