Comic Book Talk The Place to talk about Comics

Comic confusion.....

Old 03-04-07, 11:50 PM
wlj
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Comic confusion.....

I am new to comics....please explain something to me...I am very confused. Why do some superheroes have like 4 or 5 comics going on at the same time??

There are like 4 or 5 Spiderman comics and 4 or 5 Xmen comics....which is the main storyline?? Are the events that occur in all of them attached to the "main storyline"?? It confuses the crap out of me. thanks for the help.
Old 03-05-07, 02:16 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 2,677 Likes on 1,847 Posts
It all comes down to money. Marvel and DC publish multiple versions of their big franchise characters because people will buy them.

In a nutshell...

Spider-Man - The main Spider-Man book title is Amazing Spider-Man, as its been the running since the 1960s. Each title Spider-title has its own creative team, its own storyline, and its own direction but take place in the same universe with the same version of the character. So an event in Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man could be referenced later in Amazing Spider-Man.

X-Men - X-Men is different than a solo title, as each X-Men book has its own unique member roster. Marvel has dozens of X-Men characters running around at any given time, so it's not difficult to fill the teams.

Ultimate - Marvel also has a line of "Ultimate" books that take place in a universe seperate from the rest of the Marvel line. Ultimate Spider-Man, Ultimate X-Men, Ultimate Fantastic Four, and The Ultimates.

Batman - Like Spider-Man above, the various Batman books each have their own things going on, but all take place within the same continuity. (Legends of the Dark Knight, though, covers -- or at least covered -- the early exploits of Batman.)