Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Talk
Reload this Page >

A question on how to check a dvd for playback problems.

Community
Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-06, 12:29 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 309 Likes on 231 Posts

I recently discovered a disc in my CSI Season 1 set, that I have had since it was first released, that has an area that is different than any irregularity I have seen before. I need to know how to find out if this spot affects the dvd's playback. What program do you some of you use, it was mentioned on here awhile back, to check for bad sectors on a dvd? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 12-17-06, 12:44 PM
Bye

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Umm... play it?

Seriously though, I'd imagine you could use the same kind of utility used to check hard drives for errors (i.e. Scandisk or Disk First Aid, depending on your computer platform) to check out the disc. I'm not an expert on DVD error correction, but it would seem to me that any defect that obstructs the laser enough so that data isn't read properly in a particular spot would definitely be visible during playback, if nothing else than just a momentary freeze or flicker. Granted, there's a lot of data for each frame of video (well, actually the differences from the previous frame, or something like that), but with the pits being so incredibly small, any spot big enough to see clearly is going to blot out a lot of data if it's really blocking the laser.
Old 12-17-06, 01:42 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1,308 Likes on 952 Posts
Some DVD surfaces may look like there's a problem but if it plays fine then no worries. I have a few discs that has some discoloration but plays fine.
Old 12-17-06, 01:56 PM
DVD Talk Legend