Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Gamestop Pre-order question

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-06, 12:17 PM
Mok
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gamestop Pre-order question

I was just wondering since this is my first time pre-ordering with them. What do they do, do they pull the games and put them aside for you ? Or do they just pull them from the shelf when you come to pick them up. I just wanted to know since I have some games fully paid for that I need to pick up this week, and may not be able to make it in on release day. I don't want to walk in and find out they were sold out even though I pre-ordered. I only asks this question because I remember when Oblivion came out the guy working there refused to sell me the game, and told me all the games in the showcase were for pre-orders. Then he caved in, and mentioned that not all people who pre-ordered show up on release day to pick up there games. So I really hope they don't sell peoples pre-orders if they don't come in on release day.
Old 11-05-06, 12:21 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

I don't work for the chain and I know a couple people here do, but this is what I've been told - when games come out the number of copies of a title that they receive is determined by the # of preorders they have for that title. So when the game comes out they will have enough games to fulfill all preorders with some left over for anyone who didn't preorder. The catch is this - they only hold the game for you for 48 hours and then they can sell it after that, which I find absolutely ridiculous. It's also one of the reasons I rarely ever preorder a title from gamestop or ebgames. Hope this helps you.
Old 11-05-06, 12:32 PM
Mok

Thanks for the feedback, well they better hold my games I paid in full for them.
Old 11-05-06, 12:43 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition