Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Shopping Discussions > Store Forum
Reload this Page >

Ebay's Very Dubious Paypal Policy...

Community
Search
Store Forum Share Your Shopping Experiences at Stores both Online and Off.

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-06, 06:45 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Not sure if this is the right forum for this (or even if there is a "right forum"), but here goes anyway...
I just received an email from ebay notifying me that all of my DVD auction listings had been removed because they were in violation of eBay's Paypal Payments policy due to containing the stipulation "Paypal is prefered method of payment, as long as payment is funded by bank account or existing paypal funds, and not by a credit card or debit card." I've been making this stipulation in my ebay auctions for many years, in order to avoid the fees that paypal charges for "business class" accounts.
At any rate, I was pretty shocked when all of my auctions were suddently simply canceled, with the explanation in the email from ebay simply informing me that "Sellers who offer PayPal as a payment option in the listing process must accept all forms of PayPal payment, without restriction."
So is anyone else familiar with this policy? Frankly - and this is my big question - it doesn't even sound quite legal....

In any event, I would appreciate it if anybody has a toll free customer service number for ebay. Emailing them has usually turned into a nightmare. Thanks.
Old 06-15-06, 06:58 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts
The bottom line with eBay is that if you take a form of payment, it has to be unlimited as to options. So you can't only take Paypal under certain circumstances, just Paypal period. eBay feels it's part of the cost of doing business with them. I have been warned before about exclusionary payment policies, but they did not end the auctions straight out.