Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

How difficult and costly is it to start playing the bass?

Community
Search
Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-06, 10:37 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Over the last several months I've developed a strong liking to the bass and have thought about taking it up. How difficult is it? I have no other real music experience (other than the trumpet way back in junior high). How costly is equipment and lessons? My music tastes range from Rush & Primus to Iron Maiden and Anthrax.
Old 05-18-06, 10:46 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you can pick up a cheap bass and amp for 300 total. rush and primus bass playing is very difficult and you will have to be very skilled to play either. they are also 2 types of styles so you will have to learn both ways of playing. maiden and anthrax i assume are pretty basic bass but i could be wrong. im not a bass player but i do play guitar.
Old 05-18-06, 11:37 PM

Yeah, don't expect to play like Les Claypool after a year or two. That being said, it's an easy instrument to pick up. And like chino77 mentioned, a cheap bass and amp will run you around $300. Cheaper if you have no qualms in buying used gear.

It's all about holding down the beat and having a good sense of rhythm.
Old 05-19-06, 02:14 AM

i was thinking of getting a bass guitar, but i ended up buying a regular guitar (and amp). i have no idea what i am doing. i want to play like my favorite band hum. good luck on learning bass.
Old 05-19-06, 12:06 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

It's a bass. You won't get as many hot chicks as a guitarist or a lead singer, but you'll definitely get more than a drummer or a keyboardist.
Old 05-19-06, 12:35 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

You can always start with a starter kit. Here is a link to some low cost starter packages :