Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Video Game Talk
Reload this Page >

Can anyone help me find a good card-battle type game?

Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-06, 07:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, when I was younger, I played a bit of Magic: the Gathering and I enjoyed it. A couple of years ago, I started playing the Legend of the Five Rings CCG and I loved that.

A year or so ago, I moved to Japan to teach English and I'm looking for a game to kind of recapture the Lot5R experience. I have a ps2, gamecube, and a fairly decent pc.

I know there's Magic online, but I really don't want to pay a monthly subscription or pay for cards, plus the skill level is probably waaay above my ability.

Also, I'd prefer not to play a Pokemon or Yu Gi Oh type game. I have Culdcept for the ps2, which is fun, but a bit simplistic for what I'm looking for.

Is there even a game that simulates the Magic of Lot5R experience? Where I can build my own deck and play against the AI or whatever? Or just a good card-battle type game?

Thanks in advance.
Old 03-22-06, 07:42 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
There's Magic: Battle Grounds. It's a little more interactive/action oriented than just strictly a card game though.
Old 03-23-06, 01:34 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Maybe not quite what you are looking for, but Lost Kingdoms I and II are card-battle action games. Basically, you gain cards through the game and build decks before entering levels. All combat is done by using the cards in your quick slots, including summons, attack cards and support (like healing). I enjoyed the games well enough, as they are unique.
Old 03-23-06, 06:48 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 1 Like on 1 Post