Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

HDMI availbility in recievers? How about in H.T.I.B.s'?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-05, 04:56 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have a 30" Widescreen HDTV which is hooked up via HDMI to a Toshiba progressive scan DVD player which does 480p, 720p, and 1080i.

I want to start investing in a decent sound system. I'm a college student so I'm hoping to keep the price under a grand.

From what I understand the video quality is much nicer through HDMI than Componant, even though they are both HD signals. So I want to keep the HDMI connection if possible. Less wires, less hassle... Right?

Working at Best Buy, I know we have one reciever which accepts HDMI inputs, but that's 999.99. Lots of $$$.

What would be a good system for me to build up with? How would the connection look? HDMI from DVD player into reciever, another HDMI from reciever into television?

I think my television has digital audio out (I'll check when I get home and update), so could I run the HDMI cable from the DVD player to the television, and output digital audio cables from the television to the reciever?

I don't remember the model number of my television or DVD player, but my televsion is the one that was refurbished from the phillips outlet website for I believe 650 shipped to my house. So if anyone knows what TV I'm talking about, all the more info to work with.

Will update with televsion and DVD player model when I get home. Thanks in advance!
Old 11-16-05, 06:04 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts