Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Movie Talk
Reload this Page >

Ever run a mini-festival at home?

Community
Search
Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-05, 01:14 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I occasionally like to view related movies in a single sitting or over a couple of days for fun. Examples

Frankenstein
Bride of Frankenstein
Young Frankenstein

Yojimbo
Fistfull of Dollars
Last Man Standing

Seven Samurai
Magnificent Seven
A Bug's Life

Do you ever do something similar? If so, what are the themes of your mini-festivals?
Old 10-14-05, 05:50 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 45 Likes on 26 Posts
I've been doing mini festivals for ten years now. I program anywhere from 4 to 7 movies on a general theme (sci-fi, horror, schlock, etc.) and put together 45 minute segments of trailers, cartoon and short films between each movie. I have amassed nearly 800 classic trailers and the last few years I get tons of new ones off the net. I went from VHS to Super VHS and last year to DVDr. I also have been procuring a video projector.

It started when we used to go to the local 24 hour sci-fi marathons and horror marathons. They quit doing the horror ones a couple years so we started doing our own. Turns out we had more fun at home and only occasionally go to the theatrical ones. We expanded into the other genres. I do one around Halloween (next weekend) and one in Spring.

Past few years, I've even made my own little short movie. Usually digitally inserting myself into a trailer like Billy Crystal at the Oscars.
Old 10-14-05, 06:22 PM
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts

since i import alot of films from other regions that aren't available here, i often invite friends over to watch the best of my discoveries on my 110" front projection screen. a bit of discussion usually follows and we have a great time.
Old 10-14-05, 06:29 PM