Best Sellers
The Longest Day
Buy: $54.99 $24.99
DVD Blowouts
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : Legit Distance Ed Masters Programs?

moorehed
10-03-05, 10:46 AM
Are there any decent Masters Programs that can be completed on line from a remote location? I am not sure if this is what I want to do, but I am sure I don't want a degree that would be looked down on because of the school it was from... but it is hard to tell what is reputable and what is not.

DodgingCars
10-03-05, 11:07 AM
Univ. of Phoenix. They're expensive. Check out your local universities too. The university I graduated from had some online masters programs.

BigDan
10-03-05, 11:20 AM
Depending on what you want to do, there are many online programs from many different traditional universities all across the U.S.

MBA programs are the easiest to find. I don't know what you want to study, though.

moorehed
10-03-05, 11:43 AM
See I don't think I'd want to put U of Phoenix on my resume... just doesn't sound legit. Maybe that's just me. Shaq is a graduate.

I would probably want to do either MIS or MBA w/some type of Econ concentration.

moorehed
10-03-05, 11:49 AM
on a related note, anyone know how long GMAT scores are good for? I took it almost 4 years ago.

al_bundy
10-03-05, 11:50 AM
Don't know about the master's program but an MBA I talked to from Carnegie Mellon who works for Ernest and Young says it's not considered a bad school.

90% of colleges aren't special or known outside their immmediate areas so unless you go to a brand name school it doesn't really matter.

I'm not 100% sure but I think that MBA credentials are accredited by the AACSB and they require a physical classroom environment. UoP follows the coursework, but it's online. Someone I used to work with has a wife that did the MBA program from UoP for a little while. I think she worked at Cantor Fitzgerald and they paid for it. She quit after a few months because it was too much work.

jonw9