Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

How do you know if a dvd is FF or WS for sure on an HDTV?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-05, 04:24 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I recently bought an HDTV and I'm very new to this. I have 2 questions, but the first one is far more important than the second.

The TV that I bought is a Toshiba 57" and, yes, my dvd player is set already for playback on a 16x9 tv.

But how do you know when something you play on your dvd player is 4 x 3 full frame or widescreen (anamorphic or non) if it doesn't state what it is on the box or there is conflicting info on the net?

I know most dvds say what the aspect ratio is on the back and most dvd info can be easily found on the web, but some info is wrong and this is mostly a question for many of the music dvds that I own. Many, I'd say the vast majority of them, don't say whether they're full screen or widescreen and those that do, don't usually say enhanced for 16 x 9 or not.

I just put in the first dvd from the Elton John Dream ticket and both the 1st and 2nd dvds are in widescreen according to the dvdtalk review. But how would I know this to be able to check it out if I wasn't sure? Would I need to put the dvd in a player on a 4 x 3 tv and see if there were bars on top or bottom?

The settings for the Toshiba are Natural for watching in 4 x 3 tv shows or broadcasts that are in widscreen HD, Theaterwide 1 which takes a 4 x 3 show and fills up the screen with minimal distortion, Theaterwide 2 for non-anamorphic dvds without the bars, Theaterwide 3...I never use, and then there is Full which is for all anamorphic dvds and for non-anamorphic dvds with the bars.

When I'm watcing regular cable, I can always start with natural and know whether something is 4 x3 or 16 x 9, but it's not like that for the dvds.