Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Ordering high-end TVs online?

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-05, 12:38 PM
DVD Talk God

Received 616 Likes on 495 Posts

My mom is interested in getting 2 new TVs: a 42" HD plasma and a 32" HD LCD. We went to a couple local stores near where she lives and couldn't extract any discount off their listed prices. I was hoping to get some kind of discount since she wanted 2 set.

Prices for the same sets are considerably lower on-line acc'd to pricegrabber.com (even when you factor in shipping costs). Anybody have any experiences, good and bad, ordering plasmas or lcds online? Recommended etaliers? What is the delivery method? Do they just ship them and that's it (not that this is a problem as I can hook up the sets myself)?
Old 06-27-05, 01:41 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have no experience other to say that if you purchase online you need to make sure they are an authorized retailer. Many time the prices are so low online because they're not authorized to sell these brands. This can bite you in the ass later as far as warranty coverage is concerned.
Old 06-27-05, 01:54 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Red Dog
My mom is interested in getting 2 new TVs: a 42" HD plasma and a 32" HD LCD.
Your mom kicks ass.
Old 06-27-05, 04:05 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Got a 42" plasma from costco.com. Shipped freight, white glove. If you aren't familiar with "white glove", this generally means they bring it into your home (even apartment) and unbox it for you. Gives you ample chance to check for shipping damage before they leave. I'd look for it for an online plasma purchase.
Old 06-27-05, 04:10 PM
BDB
DVD Talk Legend

Received 110 Likes on 99 Posts
Ordered one from dell.com no problems the panasonic 42" Plasma..