Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD Reviews and Recommendations
Reload this Page >

DVD Talk review of 'Neon Genesis Evangelion'

Community
Search
DVD Reviews and Recommendations Read, Post and Request DVD Reviews.

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-05, 06:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I read the great reviews of 'Neon Genesis Evangelion - Resurrection (Director's Cut, Episodes 21-23)' and also 'Neon Genesis Evangelion - Genesis Reborn (Director's Cut, Episodes 24-26)'.

http://www.dvdtalk.com/reviews/read.php?ID=14978
http://www.dvdtalk.com/reviews/read.php?ID=15321

I'm new to anime and, with the current DDD 20% off sale, I'm going to buy the full platinum set. However, I have a couple questions first. The platinum vol6 includes both the original 21-23 and the directors cut 21-23. That's great! However, the platinum vol7 includes the original and directors cut of episode 24, but only the originals of the hotly controversial concluding episodes 25-26. I read that the directors cut versions of 25-26 went a very long way to improving these two episodes, so I think I'm bummed the platinum vol7 doesn't include these too. My solution to this is to also purchase the movie 'Neon Genesis Evangelion: The End of Evangelion' which I hear is a virtual replacement for those last 2 episodes which also did a better job on closing out the series. My question is - is that movie very different from the director's cut versions of 25-26? If so, that would make it THREE different versions of 25-26 out there!

Thanks,

Mick.
Old 06-18-05, 06:27 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've only seen Eps 25 & 26 from the original release of NGE and End of Evangelion, and they're completely different (not so much in terms of the end result, but the perspectives). If you're a fan of Evangelion, you'd want both.
Old 06-18-05, 06:50 PM
Defunct Account