DVD Talk
Large Earthquake in Chile 7.8 [Archive] - DVD Talk Forum


View Full Version : Large Earthquake in Chile 7.8

06-13-05, 06:14 PM
Details to follow.


06-13-05, 06:16 PM
2005/06/13 22:44 M 7.9 TARAPACA, CHILE Z=111km 19.90S 69.13W

This information is provided by the USGS
National Earthquake Information Center.
(Address problems to: sedas@ghtmail.cr.usgs.gov)

These parameters are preliminary and subject to revision.

A magnitude 7.9 earthquake IN TARAPACA, CHILE has occurred at:
19.90S 69.13W Depth 111km Mon Jun 13 22:44:33 2005 UTC

Time: Universal Time (UTC) Mon Jun 13 22:44:33 2005
Time Near Epicenter Mon Jun 13 18:44:33 2005
Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) Mon Jun 13 18:44:33 2005
Central Daylight Time (CDT) Mon Jun 13 17:44:33 2005
Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) Mon Jun 13 16:44:33 2005
Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) Mon Jun 13 15:44:33 2005
Alaska Daylight Time (ADT) Mon Jun 13 14:44:33 2005
Hawaii Standard Time (HST) Mon Jun 13 12:44:33 2005

Location with respect to nearby cities:
115 km (70 miles) ENE of Iquique, Chile (pop 206,000)
200 km (125 miles) SE of Arica, Chile
240 km (150 miles) SSE of Tacna, Peru
1515 km (940 miles) N of SANTIAGO, Chile


06-13-05, 06:26 PM
I didn't feel anything.

06-13-05, 06:38 PM
I didn't feel anything.

Try harder!


The Bus
06-13-05, 06:40 PM
I assume the Earthquake was in Argentina too. I mean Chile is like 8mm wide, according to this map I got here.

06-13-05, 06:49 PM
Was it San Andreas' fault?

06-13-05, 06:50 PM
I had a bad dream last night about an earth quake....weird....

06-13-05, 07:03 PM

4:44 PM PDT, June 13, 2005 latimes.com : World Print E-mail story Most E-mailed

Strong Earthquake Rattles Northern Chile
By Associated Press

SANTIAGO, Chile -- A powerful earthquake rattled northern Chile Monday causing alarm in some desert towns but there were no immediate reports on victims or major damage.

The U.S. Geological Survey said the preliminary magnitude was 7.9, while Chile's Emergency Bureau said it registered at 5.6. There was no immediate explanation for the discrepancy. The quake struck at 6:54 p.m.

Deputy Interior Minister Jorge Correar said the epicenter was located in an unpopulated area in the Andes mountains near the Bolivian border, about 940 miles north of Santiago, the capital.

Power supply and communications were interrupted in the port cities of Iquique, 1,120 miles, north of here, and Arica, in the border with Peru.

It was also felt in other cities in the area, including Calama, next to Chuquicamata, the world's largest open pit copper mine.


06-13-05, 07:09 PM
Yeah, i was just watching the bulletin on TV CHILE. I am Chilean, and my dad called to say that family is safe. i'm so glad it wasnt centered in the ocean , fear of tsunami. Specially at nighttime. Thank God

DVD Polizei
06-13-05, 07:09 PM
Chuquicamata. What the hell is that. Sounds like some new killer guacamole dip. :up:

06-13-05, 07:13 PM
Thanks to MJ, this is the first I've heard of this.

06-13-05, 07:14 PM
Was it San Andreas' fault?
No, it's no one's fault

06-13-05, 07:31 PM
Chuquicamata. What the hell is that. Sounds like some new killer guacamole dip. :up:


06-13-05, 09:21 PM
oooooh...these little earthquakes....

heeeeeeeeeere they go again... ;)

The Bus
06-13-05, 11:20 PM
Now I just want some Pisco.

06-13-05, 11:48 PM
Now I just want some Piscopo.

Joe? :hscratch:


06-13-05, 11:50 PM
111 km deep? Isn't that like very very deep?

06-14-05, 12:02 AM
Yes it is, 68.972181 Miles, but unfortunately it wasn't deep enough. :(


‘Major’ quake rocks north Chile, kills at least eight

14 June 2005

SANTIAGO - A strong earthquake struck northern Chile on Monday, killing at least eight people, toppling 17 houses and sparking alarm on the country’s border with Peru, authorities said.

The quake cut power in Iquique, 2,460 kilometers (1,528 miles) north of Santiago, on the Pacific Coast of South America.

The United States Geological Survey measured the quake at 7.9 on the Richter scale.

“A major earthquake occurred at 22:44 GMT on Monday,” the USGS said in a statement.

“The magnitude 7.9 event has been located in Tarapaca, Chile,” the service said, at a depth of 111 kilometers (69 miles),” the USGS said.

The quake lasted for about 50 seconds, according to local reports. In that time, hundreds of Chileans, accustomed to earthquakes, ran outside fearing building collapses.

The victim, who lived outside of the city of Iquique, was a handicapped man killed when his dwelling collapsed on him.

The quake was barely felt in the copper mining center of Calama, 1,230 kilometers (764 miles) north of Santiago, and not felt at all in the capital itself.

The epicenter was located deep under the Andes mountain range, near Chile’s border with Bolivia.


Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0