Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

!!!Help With Sound System!!!

DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Old 04-18-05, 09:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey everybody. I have a friend who needs help with purchasing a home theater receiver and speakers. I figure an Onkyo is good for the receiver (I own the Onkyo TX-SR501 myself and love it). But I'm not sure what kind of power his system needs for the living room. He has a LARGE living room. It is roughly 19 x 22 with cathedral ceilings approx 10-16' high at the center. He wants to have his TV, VCR, DVD player, CD player, and turntable connected to it.
And I'm a novice at giving speaker advice. He's looking for bookshelf speakers for the front with kind of a wood look to them. I wouldn't know what kind would be good but inexpensive. He has about $600 to spend on the receiver and speakers. I've always trusted the DVD Talker's advice with my computer and a bunch of other stuff so I hope you guys can help me out again. Thanks a bunch.
Old 04-19-05, 01:28 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I guess I could say GOOD LUCK with getting a good speaker/receiver for around $600. I suppose he could get the Onkyo 6.1 system for around $400. I'm not well versed in speakers either....I have JBL's and they sound pretty darn good....but his room is a bit bigger than mine.

Try this place to look: GREAT SERVICE

http://ww3.onecall.com/PID_27031.htm
Old 04-19-05, 02:28 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

The Onkyo 770 HTiB system is often one of the highest rated in the price range.
Old 04-19-05, 03:58 PM

Many receivers in that price range won't have a phono input for the turntable anymore.
Old 04-19-05, 04:49 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

I don't know exactly how well my following suggestions would fill up his large room, but for $600, this is what I usually recommend as a possible alternative to the Onkyo 770: