Reload this Page >

The Double Life of Veronique

DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Old 02-17-05, 11:12 PM
Suspended

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm sure this question has been asked before, but I thought I'd start a new thread to see whether or not any new information is known.

I'm a professor at Valparaiso University, and I scheduled to teach a grad seminar on Kundera and Kieslowski in the Fall. I really want to teach The Double Life as part of the class, and I'm hoping that the class will turn into a paper for me as well (for which I'd definitely need to re-watch Double Life, which I haven't seen since 1994, I think.

Does anybody know when this might come out? How about what studio owns the rights and would be most likely to release it. Is it Miramax? Who might I contact?

Also, does anyone know if this was ever out on laserdisc? If I could hunt one of those down, that would do until the DVD gets released.

With all the Kieslowski films available, I can't believe this one isn't. Especially after all the work on releasing The Decalogue.

Please help, and hello to you all.

Thanks,

Ron
Old 02-17-05, 11:31 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Hello and welcome to the board. Nice to have you here.

Miramax owns the rights for the states. No release in the near future is planned. You could look for my old thread I had about a year ago. The only available version is a semi-boot (in my opinion) disc that came out in Greece. There is no French R2 version available either.

Again, welcome to the forum!!

Regards,
Pro-B

ps
I highly doubt it, it would help if you wrote to the distrib heads at Miramax. I spent hours and hours writing to Universal to release BEFORE THE RAIN...a year later=nothing. With another member here we even went to the point where we had the Macedonian government semi-involved.

Last edited by pro-bassoonist; 02-17-05 at 11:36 PM.
Old 02-17-05, 11:37 PM
Suspended