Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Please help with HDTV question

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-05, 03:49 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey-

First off, I know this has probably been answered elsewhere, but I am not good with this technology, and I would really appreciate an answer in lamen's terms. *I searched but could NOT understand the lingo*

I have a Mitsubishi HDTV Upgradable (or whatever it is called -- it is NOT HD Built-In) TV purchased in Dec. 2002. There is NO DVI or HDMI on the back of the TV. If I want to get HDTV broadcast or play HD-DVD/Blu Ray movies, how is that going to work? Aren't component cables analog which defeats the purpose of even getting HDTV broadcast or HD-DVD/Blue Ray...Do I have to buy a new TV? Does this 'tuner' that cable companies give for HD broadcast convert analog to digital 100%??

Thanks to all
Old 02-10-05, 04:35 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Originally Posted by paulringodaman

I have a Mitsubishi HDTV Upgradable (or whatever it is called -- it is NOT HD Built-In) TV purchased in Dec. 2002. There is NO DVI or HDMI on the back of the TV. If I want to get HDTV broadcast or play HD-DVD/Blu Ray movies, how is that going to work? Aren't component cables analog which defeats the purpose of even getting HDTV broadcast or HD-DVD/Blue Ray...Do I have to buy a new TV? Does this 'tuner' that cable companies give for HD broadcast convert analog to digital 100%??

Thanks to all
Here is a tutorial on connections

http://www.projectorpeople.com/tutorials/dec-cable.asp

There are different kinds of DVI connections as well.