Best Sellers
The Longest Day
Buy: $54.99 $24.99
DVD Blowouts
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : good idea? bad idea? comments please.

fliggil
01-23-05, 06:15 PM
OK so I will keep my story short, because I know when I talk about what I study and such, I get into way too much detail. Basically, part of my major is in film and I've run my own website dealing with film/music reviews/interviews for about 6 months now. I know the idea of a DVD magazine has been discussed before and is usually shot down. I had a similar idea, either a bi-monthly or monthly magazine, but it would be something distributed for free on my college campus (University of Florida, ~45000 students). My vision is it would be DVD reviews, with special sections maybe like 1 on a Criterion release, 'classic feature', etc., also include some interviews, and maybe info on some of the local theaters that show indie/foreign films. Has anyone had any experience starting up a publication? Know about costs? I wouldn't have to pay a staff because I could easily find other willing students to work on this for fun, and to put on their resume. How hard is it being placed on a 'publication' list with DVD distributors for obtaining copies to review? Comments? Let me have it.

Al Padrino
01-23-05, 06:32 PM
Not sure about many of the things you asked about, but I do know that unless you get in good with a publisher, the cost to make a good number of copies is going to be the most costly thing, especially if it were to include any color whatsoever.

fliggil
01-23-05, 06:37 PM
Well I know there's a few publishers who work with some of the clubs and student organizations, so I'm checking into all of that tomorrow about rates. I also think I should be able to get some sponsors that I hope would cover most of the cost, maybe even finding a distributor to sponsor?

Al Padrino
01-23-05, 06:40 PM
That'd be best, since it sounds like this is something you're planning on funding yourself.