Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Video Game Talk
Reload this Page >

I've almost had it with PC Gaming...please help.

Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-04, 11:32 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been an avid PC Gamer since and never really got to consoles due to the fact that I primarily play First-Person Shooters. FPS controls seem to be better (for me anyway) using a mouse and keyboard.

What bothers me the most are the numerous upgrades I have been doing for the last 2 years:

Processors : Intel P3 800mhz to Intel P4 2.0Ghz and now a P4 2.8Ghz
Videocards : ATI 9200 to ATI 9600xt and now an ATI X800 Pro

That doesn't even include the motherboards of which I should be upgrading again in order to accommodate a higher processor with an 800mhz bus.

Can anyone please tell me if the system I have right now is good enough to last for future PC games coming out??? So right now I have P4 2.8Ghz (533mhz), ATI x800Pro, 1 gig RAM. For chrissakes, the amount of money I have spent just to be able to play Doom3 & HalfLife 2 have been staggering to say the least!!!
Old 12-22-04, 11:38 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
No PC is good enough for future PC gaming.
Old 12-22-04, 11:45 AM
Retired

Exactly, that's why I've never been able to get into it much. I don't like working on computers, or buying new ones very often, and it's near impossible without breaking the bank to build a computer that will be able to run the latests and greatest games at optimal settings for 5 years (standard console lifespan).

So no one can really help you with that. Upgrading often is basically a necessary evil in PC gaming. You just have to decide if it's worth it to you.
Old 12-22-04, 11:46 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

A) Buy a new, state of the art PC, with top of the line components
B) Do a fresh OS install, and install all updates & video card drivers