Search
DVD Talk Talk about DVDs and Movies on DVD including Covers and Cases

Question: Anamorphic WS vs Anamorphic Lenses

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-04, 11:22 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question: Anamorphic WS vs Anamorphic Lenses

OK, I know what Anamorphic WS is when it comes to DVD transfers, but what I'm not 100% sure about is, what are anamorphic camera lenses? And are they needed for an anamorphic transfer?
Old 12-12-04, 12:20 PM

I'm no expert, but I believe that the concept of anamorphic lenses is similar to anamorphic DVD in that it spreads the image out over more area of the film to get more detail. But no, the lens type and DVD transfer have nothing to do with each other.
Old 12-12-04, 12:40 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by bis22
I'm no expert, but I believe that the concept of anamorphic lenses is similar to anamorphic DVD in that it spreads the image out over more area of the film to get more detail. But no, the lens type and DVD transfer have nothing to do with each other.
Ahh, OK. So they allow more "information" to come in to spread across the film frame?
Old 12-12-04, 01:12 PM

I believe an anamorphic lens is used on a full frame camera. The anamorphic lens takes a panoramic view, and compresses it horizontally to fit the 4:3 aspect ratio of the film.

Then, the image needs "decoding" at the output. By using an anamorphic projection lens on an full frame projector, the image that was compressed into a 4:3 frame is stretched back out to its proper aspect ration on the screen. It could also be done by way of an anamorphic transfer to a disk, and electronically stretched back to proper OAR for display.

What this allows, is for the full vertical resolution of the film to be used for the widescreen projection. Shooting full matte, and then masking for widescreen wastes all of the resolution of the film hidden by the matte.

At least that's how I understand it to work.

/r