All posts by this user have a meta tag that causes the browser to redirect to www.big-bizness.net.
angryyoungman
10-16-04, 03:57 PM
In the main DVD Talk forum, a number of threads have been in effect hijacked by a user named bigbizness whose posts I would assume have hidden code redirecting users to big-bizness.net. This happens on any of the threads where this user has posted.
I'm using Firefox, so I don't know whether this trick affects other users, but something needs to be done immeadiately. Thanks.
TomOpus
10-16-04, 03:58 PM
Happens to IE users... like me :grunt:
Looks like he's only invaded the main forum...
Groucho
10-16-04, 04:03 PM
Holy shit!
It happened to me too.
How is this possible?
Mikko Rasinkangas
10-16-04, 04:08 PM
The posts have a meta tag in them with a refresh to a certain address.
Search for posts by "bigbuziness" and you can see the tag.
TomOpus
10-16-04, 04:08 PM
meta tag in his posts.... the asshole...
edit: damn... beat by mere seconds... :)
Bandoman
10-16-04, 04:09 PM
Happened to me too. Ban him.
Copenhagen
10-16-04, 04:09 PM
Just got me as well :mad:
TomOpus
10-16-04, 04:10 PM
Yeah, if you're quick and hit "stop" on your browser before the redirect, you can read the thread...
towbinaj
10-16-04, 04:11 PM
The bastard has made it impossible to read some threads
Bandoman
10-16-04, 04:13 PM
Yeah, I can't post in any thread in which he posts. Once I'm redirected to his stupid lame-ass site I can't get back to the thread.
X
10-16-04, 04:16 PM
He's gone.
Copenhagen
10-16-04, 04:16 PM
:up: Thanks X.
TomOpus
10-16-04, 04:16 PM
A few of us posted in the one thread he started.... not that it matters... it was probably as hit and run.
Wished I had some hacking skillzzzz :D
spankasmurf
10-16-04, 04:17 PM
I never realized that someone could post without registering. If this asshat were required to register to post, could we not then "ignore" him. Would the post still redirect if you had him on your ignore list?
X
10-16-04, 04:22 PM
He registered. I just wiped him out.
Let me know if I missed any of his posts.
X
10-16-04, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by TomOpus
Wished I had some hacking skillzzzz :D I suppose you could let the people at the big-bizness site know what you think of his methods...
big-bizness.net
Registrant:
camacho, rogelio
(OIXTNNWXPI)
458 Parkside Ct.
chula vista, CA 91910
US
Phone: 619-420-4200
Domain Name: BIG-BIZNESS.NET
Administrative Contact :
camacho, rogelio
(OIXTNNWXPI)
ezaonasis@hotmail.com
458 Parkside Ct.
chula vista, CA 91910
US
Phone: 619-420-4200
TomOpus
10-16-04, 04:28 PM
Oh, you might've missed the "What DVDs are you getting..." thread.
Hmmmm Chula Vista... maybe some San Diego Otters could pay a visit...
Thanks for the info!
X
10-16-04, 04:32 PM
Thanks. Got it.
TomOpus
10-16-04, 04:40 PM
Good job X!
Bandoman
10-16-04, 04:40 PM
Thanks X! :up:
auto
10-18-04, 09:37 AM
:up: X
Wizdar
10-18-04, 11:43 AM
Is any of this related to the problem I had with the link in the Star Wars thread (http://www.dvdtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=390024) (1st post)?
I looked at the site early last week with no problems. Looked it up later (Friday?) and had a shitload of adware/spyware loaded on my computer. I ran Spybot before this since my IT guy suggested the 404 mini-popup might be related to spyware or something, but my computer came up clean. After deleting Bargain Buddy and all its incestuous bastard programs, I’ve got about a dozen new items in the registry and my IT guy is giving me grief.