Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Surge protectors and video quality

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-04, 10:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Is there any sense in spending $200 on a monster surge protector for a $900 TV that is mainly if not exclusively used for DVD playback?

I just couldn't see where the salesman was coming from when I explained that at this point wouldn't be using digital cable, etc. He kept insisting the DVD picture would be clearer. If he told me it could protect my equipment it would make sense but I still would've declined and got something cheaper.

I'm no HT expert but I'm not a noob either and just can't see how it would help me unless I had some serious picture quality issues related to power problems.

I live in a 3 year old housing development and have not experienced any power issues in regards to my computer equipment, audio, video quality, etc.
Old 09-12-04, 03:44 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 13 Likes on 10 Posts
Two different issues here.

A surge protector is designed to protect your equipment from power surges. It has nothing to do with "clearer". Yes you should have a good surge protector.

Some of these devices also claim to "clean" the power by reducing or eliminating rf interference etc. I have never seen this to be effective.

Also, I discovered a 10 db signal loss by running my sat coax through my Panamax surge protector which I removed.

Finally always remember if God wants your equipment he is going to get it no matter what protection you have
Old 09-12-04, 08:03 PM
JM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Here is a good rule of thumb. The answer to any "Do I need this Monster-brand product?" question is "No."
Old 09-13-04, 06:39 AM