Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

Digital Optical vs. Coaxial

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-04, 09:28 PM

Received 10 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm fairly new to the surround sound environment and am confused about something I saw at Bestbuy today. I swear I read a "comparison" sign that said Coaxial Digital does not give 5.1 surround sound and Optical was the only thing that would do that. I have a coaxial jack on my dvd player and wonder if that will pump out both Dolby Digital and DTS (the player and receiver support both). Did I read something wrong and/or is Bestbuy trying to get people to buy more expensive cables?

Thank you in advance!
Old 09-10-04, 09:52 PM
X
Administrator

Received 154 Likes on 124 Posts
Best Buy or your reading is wrong. The type of cable doesn't matter. Your coax jack will work just fine. (I prefer coax myself just for its durability and it passes DTS and DD)
Old 09-11-04, 01:00 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I wouldn't put it past BB to post incorrect info like this to get people to buy the more expensive Optical cables! It could backfire if they want to push a particular DVD player that ONLY has Coaxial Digital output.
Old 09-11-04, 09:14 AM
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts

Buy the optical cables at Radio Shack. ~$20 for 1.5m.

That's not cheap, but in my experience, everybody else charges more.

You can get decent cheap coax at RS as well. Just stay away from Monster. Everything they make is overpriced.
Old 09-12-04, 11:01 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You can get optical cables for around $9 too at places like Walmart, K-Mart, Fred Meyer's, etc. I used to like optical a lot, but have since been using coax as it seems to be a bit more reliable depending on the cable and the equipment it's being used on.
Old 09-12-04, 12:02 PM