Has anybody ever purchased from this Ebayer? They have a lot of "uncut" "unrated" DVD's my question are these legit region 2 (or whatever region) DVD's or are these bootlegs? How is the quality? I definitely see a couple I wouldn't mind having
Sorry about that guys, here is the seller, thanks for laughing it over instead of flaming me too, shows how much class DVD talkers have vs other boards
Originally posted by 68ShelbyGT500KR
What is the Ebayers user name?
For comparions try http://www.dvdcompare.net/
There is a site thatshows pictures but I don't recall the URL
Nice to see you again 68Shelby, thanks again for the help!!
JoeyOhhhh
07-27-04, 12:35 AM
With feedback responses like: Customer error, unfamiliar with compatibility standards. Have consulted w/ info
I'd be a little suspect of the seller
Tony Dvdfan
07-27-04, 01:11 AM
I would be wary....seems to me that everytime somebody complains about quality, compatability, etc...the seller probably offers a refund, and they both agree to withdraw the feedback.
That way the seller keeps a good rating, and nobody complains about receiving bootlegs. IMO, it seems like they have a ton of copies of dvds that are worth good money, which usually would mean bootlegs.
billy9215
07-27-04, 08:44 AM
All this buyer sells is bootlegs, stay away....
mikewendt
07-27-04, 10:19 AM
They all look like bootlegs... Especially due to the fact that if all those "Uncut" versions were region free we'd all be buying them.
Joe Molotov
07-27-04, 12:37 PM
From one of this seller's auctions:
If you have a rediculous machine loaded with proprietary firmware (ie: Sony Playstation) designed to prevent playback of DVDs from other country's simply because they are pal, you may need to through the junk away and get a 30 buck Apex-brand player.
Man, if I could just get rid of that proprietary firmware that kept my DVD player from playing PAL, I'd be all set. ;)
Shannon Nutt
07-27-04, 03:29 PM
Bootlegs...the fact that every box cover says "Stock Photo" below it should tip you off. He probably doesn't even have boxes for the discs he's selling.
fnordboy
07-27-04, 05:12 PM
Originally posted by billy9215
All this buyer sells is bootlegs, stay away....
:hscratch: How can you say that. The few random ones that I clicked on he clearly stated what region they were. Riget was correctly stated as Region 2, Pi as Region 1. I don't know if the Nadja release is legit though. Region 0 doesn't necessarily mean bootleg.
I would be wary of the seller, but just going by his description not everything is a boot (and in fact 90% of the small amount I checked seemed legit).
Of course they may be DVD-Rs or the like.
TheV
07-27-04, 05:19 PM
Originally posted by billy9215
All this buyer sells is bootlegs, stay away....
"buyer sells"
So is the buyer selling or the seller buying? What is this world coming to?
TV
cultshock
07-27-04, 06:18 PM
I agree with fnordboy. At least some of the auctions I checked out seem to be legit. He has different region discs and the prices are all over the place (a bootlegger's prices are usually a bit more consistant). I'm not saying that I think he's 100% legit, but I've seen far shadier DVD auctions on ebay, so lets just label the guy as "questionable" :) . The weird thing about this guy though, is that he seems to be located in either the US or UK (with prices either in dollars or pounds). I guess it could be two guys who use the same account (don't think it's against ebay rules).
68ShelbyGT500KR
07-27-04, 07:27 PM
Originally posted by animalmystic
Nice to see you again 68Shelby, thanks again for the help!!