DVD Talk
Do you use Excel spreadsheets to organize your DVD collection? [Archive] - DVD Talk Forum

Best Sellers
The Longest Day
Buy: $54.99 $24.99
DVD Blowouts
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : Do you use Excel spreadsheets to organize your DVD collection?

OREOSpeedwagon
06-01-04, 10:16 PM
If so what are the advantages over DVDAficionado, DVD Profiler or Guzzlefish? Do you use them to keep track of how much you've spent on DVDs or what else do you use them for?

kevin75
06-01-04, 11:20 PM
i used to use excel to catalogue all of my collections. i had a very complex database with just about every concievable piece of information. then my computer crashed. :( now i use a program called dvdattache that was free and very easy to use. all i do i enter the ISBN number and it searches the net to find all of the details.

milo bloom
06-01-04, 11:39 PM
I used to Excel, but I was just typing in all the data, I'm not good at programming. Now I've got Aficionado and I'm perfectly satisfied.

TomOpus
06-01-04, 11:44 PM
Originally posted by OREOSpeedwagon
If so what are the advantages over DVDAficionado, DVD Profiler or Guzzlefish? Do you use them to keep track of how much you've spent on DVDs or what else do you use them for? It's tough for friends and family to check out my collection with an Excel spreadsheet locally on my PC. :)

I used to keep track of all the DVD info on a spreadsheet but the online collection sites make it so much easier. Plus, for Profiler, you can download reports to print out hardcopies, if needed.

Drexl
06-01-04, 11:55 PM
I'm considering using Access to do it, but it will take a while.

FatTony
06-01-04, 11:56 PM
I use an Excel spreadsheet for my collection of ~500. The only reason I really even use it is to keep track of how much I've spent on my collection, but I also have other information in it, such as where the DVD was purchased, how many discs it has, and other goofy information.