Community
Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Considering a refurbished X-Box... want advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-04, 07:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Considering a refurbished X-Box... want advice

I've found a reputable store selling refurbished X-Box machines for $88.00. Unfortunately, they do not offer any kind of extended warranty - just a 30 day return policy.

I currently own a PS2 and Dreamcast, and am interested in expanding to include an X-Box, but was wondering if this was a good price on a refurbished system. Additionally, I was wondering if anyone had advice about buying such a machine, i.e. problems I might look for when I bring the system home and how I might go about testing its features. I have no working knowledge of the XBox and don't know what I might expect from it mechanically. Are there any particular problems to look out for or other things I should investigate at the store before making this purchase?

Any advice would be much appreciated, but please do not start flaming about the quality of systems or which system is "better". I am very happy with both my existing systems and only want advice regarding the possible purchase of a refurbished XBox to add to what I've got.

Thanks for your help.
Old 05-18-04, 07:38 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Location: under the stars with a great view of the mountains and a the lovely aroma of cow shit.
refurbished is fine. And if it takes a crap on you are only out 88 bucks. If your really worried about it buy a brand new one for 149.
Old 05-18-04, 07:42 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
$88 for a refurbished X-Box seems low, better make sure it's "refurbished" as opposed to "used." Refurbished systems should have the same type of warranty as a new system from MS's viewpoint.
Old 05-18-04, 07:57 PM
Suspended

Received 101 Likes on 87 Posts
Wow...thats way too low.
Old 05-18-04, 10:02 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

dont copy that floppy