DVD Talk
Seven Samurai: Criterion Collection a Good Blind Buy? [Archive] - DVD Talk Forum

Best Sellers
The Longest Day
Buy: $54.99 $24.99
DVD Blowouts
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : Seven Samurai: Criterion Collection a Good Blind Buy?

BigDogg
03-09-04, 02:11 AM
I know its considered a classic and all but

i'm new to the dvd collecting thing and its pretty expensive so i was looking for some opinions about the dvd

Josh Z
03-09-04, 09:45 AM
Rumors are that they may re-release it in a better edition with a new subtitle translation sometime in the next year or so.

I would probably rent it for now and hold off on a purchase.

Groucho
03-09-04, 09:55 AM
I love the film, it's worth at least a rental if you like action films at all. It's pretty much a template for a lot of movies since.

Also, depending on your age, it may qualify for this weeks "Movie Challenge" (see my sig).

bboisvert
03-09-04, 02:26 PM
This may very possibly be my favorite movie of all time (depending on the way the wind is blowing). As an added bonus, it has a FANTASTIC commentary track that can aid/deepen your appreciation of the film.

Yes, I think this makes a fantastic blind buy.

theneobez
03-09-04, 06:55 PM
I'd rent it as Josh Z said Criterion is seriously considering a re-release.

Hokeyboy
03-10-04, 11:07 AM
Buy it, and when they rerelease it, buy it again. It's a sackful of goodness, one of the greatest movies ever made, and as mentioned before, the commentary track is worth the price of admission alone.

Roy?

ketya
03-10-04, 01:04 PM
Seven Samurai was my first criterion dvd and still the best

Fok
03-11-04, 02:36 PM
Buy it, you won't regret it.

MEJHarrison
03-11-04, 04:00 PM