Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > DVD Discussions > DVD & Home Theater Gear
Reload this Page >

I'm new at this...question about optimizing sound

Community
Search
DVD & Home Theater Gear Discuss DVD and Home Theater Equipment.

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-03, 10:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

hey everyone, I've been looking for info on how I can optimize my Kenwood HTB-505 home theater system. I've had it for about 6 months now, but I'm just now realizing that it definitley needs to be optimized. (It says it does: Dolby Digital, Prologic II, +DTS) Can someone point me in the right direction of what I need to do? Maybe a website? or a few pointers? I haven't done anything to it yet...(no digital in/out cables) But I know there is room for improovement :-D Also...about how much would it cost to get new cables and what not? I'm not very good at this sort of stuff, all you experts out there...any comments/help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot!
Matt

Last edited by MHohen75; 11-15-03 at 10:17 PM.
Old 11-15-03, 11:40 PM

The best way to optimize is with a disc such as Avia or Digital Video Essentials, and an spl meter from Radio Shack.
Adding better cables will help some. Again Radio Shack has decent ones. They should at least have gold connectors. They have expensive ones too. Then there's Monster cables. High dollar stuff there. You don't need to spend more on cables, than your system costs or is worth in dollars. Just do the best that you can afford, and that should be fine.
Old 11-16-03, 01:14 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
what do you mean by optimized?

I really would not waste much money on better cables or wiring. Home theaters in the box have many limitations due to it being an all in one solution for a lower price.

I doubt you will get huge improvements in sound.
Old 11-16-03, 01:25 AM