Community
Search

Why are Criterions non-anamorphic

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-03, 01:01 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Why are Criterions non-anamorphic

I was just wondering why Criterion's DVD's are non-anamorphic. I never really noticed before as I am relatively new to the HTheater world but I'm much more aware of anamorphic vs non-anamorphic now that I have a widescreen TV. I, and apparently many others on this forum, really enjoy the Criterion Collections because they put out great restored editions with really nice supplemental material. It just seems that these high quality DVD's should have anamorphic transers.
Old 10-22-03, 01:04 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
A lot of the older ones are non-anmorphic, yes. Criterion put out the best versions of DVDs that could possibly be created at the time. With one or two exceptions, every release of theirs in the past couple of years (since Insomnia) has been anamorphic where apllicable.

Criterion often don't have teh rights anymore to their older releases, hence no anamorphic reissues, though they have done anamorphic reissues when possible (The 400 Blows and, I believe Beauty & The Beast).

Go to their site, www.criterionco.com, and it'll list which are anamorphic and not.
Old 10-22-03, 01:09 PM
Banned

Beauty in the Beast is 1.33 non-anamorphic

Criterion was slow to adapt to anamorphic. They worried about the quality of individual DVD players' anamorphic conversion (at least that was their reason). They've mostly switched to anamophic these days wherever applicable (academy ratio films like B and the B and Rashoman are not anamorphic of course). Some newer titles (Mona Lisa, Withnail and I) still aren't anamorphic because they can't seem to get the rights to the elements to make new anamorph transfers so instead we get DVD's made from old transfers.
Old 10-22-03, 01:09 PM