Reload this Page >

Is the digital sound upgrade worth it?

Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

Old 05-19-03, 01:45 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've been playing XBox games for about 6 months now and I'm thinkig it's time to get the digital cables so I can listen to the games in 5.1 sound. But is it worth the money? I'm not even sure how much the cables are. Any comments would be appreciated.

I basically have all the necessary equipment besides the cable that would run from my XBox to the stereo.

Last edited by James W. Powell; 05-19-03 at 01:48 PM.
Old 05-19-03, 01:58 PM

Heck yes its worth it. Especially games like Halo and Splinter Cell. It adds so much more to the experience. I am not sure if you have it already but you need the Advanced pack which is currently $20, I know it comes with A/V cables but I dont remember if it comes with a digital cable too. If it doesnt, you can get those online for about $5, or the cheapest in stores is probably $10. For digital, you do not need to spend tons of money on the cables, so the cheapest ones will work just as good as the $40 monster cable ones.
Old 05-19-03, 02:03 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

I actually played Splinter Cell without digital.

What exactly is the Advanced Pack?
Old 05-19-03, 02:11 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 7 Likes on 1 Post
Yes, it is worth it.

Get the Advanced A/V pack and then get a cheap optical cable from Radio Shack
Old 05-19-03, 02:45 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I don't really get much more out of games with 5.1, but for $20 you might as well upgrade.
Old 05-19-03, 02:54 PM

Advanced pack is what you need to play games in Dolby Digital.
Old 05-19-03, 03:15 PM

Originally posted by Aghama
I don't really get much more out of games with 5.1, but for $20 you might as well upgrade.