Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

GameCube memory card advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-03, 11:35 PM
Challenge Guru & Comic Nerd

Received 676 Likes on 452 Posts
GameCube memory card advice

So I have bought Super Mario Sunshine twice in the last week. Once at Target for 45.00 (10% off new credit card) with the free 251 memory card, and once at Blockbuster new for 24.99.

I was going to return the Target one, as I already have 3 memory cards, 1 of them a 251.

So my question is this, how many memory cards do you think I'll need? I'm pretty new to the GameCube, but already have almost 10 titles. All except Animal Crossing seem to be fairly small in the memory card size requirement. I'm quite the collector and bargain hunter, so I'll probably have 25 titles by the end of the year.
Old 04-04-03, 12:01 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I have about 15 games & have used less than half of my 251
Old 04-04-03, 12:42 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

If you play sports games, then get at least one 251 just for those. another 251 is adequate for all other games.
Old 04-04-03, 03:08 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 954 Likes on 662 Posts
It depends on what you play. One of the major reasons why I don't like sports games is because they take up so much freakin' memory. I find the 59 cards to be of little use except to back up data (I really do not want to lose My super smash bros data) or start more games since the big N doesn't want you saving more than three save files per card.

So if you return the Target one that means you have to return the 251 as well. I suggest you have at least one of those but you can pick one up at Best Buy for $15 with $5 coupon. sooo....up to you.
Old 04-04-03, 04:26 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've got around eleven games (none of them sports), and still have 160 blocks remaining on my 251.