Search
Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

PC Gaming....I'm ready.

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-03, 09:59 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PC Gaming....I'm ready.

Ok, after being a console game since the days of the Magnavox Oddessey, I'm finally ready and able to jump into the world of PC gaming. (I finally have a computer that's able to keep up.)

So, for a total newbie, please recommend some good PC games for me to play. I would prefer good games of last couple years, as they are more likely to be found on the bargain shelves, and consoles are still my first gaming choice.

I don't have any other contoller devices other than the keyboard and mouse, but I want to get a flight stick, so if anyone can recommend a good one for a decent price, I'd appreciate that too.

I'm looking forward to see what you recommend!
Old 02-20-03, 10:11 AM

Received 122 Likes on 84 Posts
I'll ask two questions before I give recommendations:

1. What are your system specs?

2. What kinds of games do you like to play?

After you tell us that information, we can give better recommendations. But here's a few great games that are a bit older and therefore cheap (and easy to run on most any system):

RPG: Baldur's Gate, Fallout, Planescape: Torment

FPS: Half-Life, Unreal Tournament

Turn-Based Strategy: Civilization 3 (even cheaper: Civilization 2 and Alpha Centauri)

Real-Time Strategy: Starcraft
Old 02-20-03, 10:22 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition