Video Game Talk The Place to talk about and trade Video & PC Games

"When I was your age"

Old 02-16-03, 12:16 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 16 Likes on 10 Posts
"When I was your age"

I'm hoping that I'm not alone here, and for startes Im not trying to be a jerk so I apologize in advance for people I may upset or offend.

I've been working in a video game store for about seven months now, and I know everyone's tastes are different, and not everyone games the same way twice. But am I the only one who gets annoyed when a thirty something guy walks in and asks if "you have any games like Pac-Man". Or course I recommend the Namco museums, and such but it never seems to please them. They even ask "so which system should I buy? Do you have Atari?" Granted I myself grew up with an Atari system, and much later had an NES. My gripe isnt that they want classic games but it seems that they are unwilling to "evolve" and take a risk at getting a new system. I always do my best to provde them with as much as I can, and yet its never enough. They (my random customer-cave people) seem to want to run away in fear, than take the risk and try something new.

So I have to ask you, at what moment did you decide that "I want a newer system" When did you decide your old games werent cutting it for you? I was fortunate enough to get an upgrade every once and a while and friends who bought newer systems when they came out. I know not everyone has the $$$$$$$ to spend on newer systems every two years, but there is life after Pac-Man.
Old 02-16-03, 12:50 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
I hate it when those real old 30 something people come in to shop . I wish they would stay in the cave

I am 41 years old and own a PS2 and GC.

Some people never grow old and some do. Smile and do your best. a few might actually learn something and decide to buy a newer system
Old 02-16-03, 12:58 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 7 Likes on 1 Post