DVD Blowouts
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : please critique this site for me

HistoryProf
01-23-03, 10:18 AM
Ok, so we have a new guy in charge of overhauling our department's website, which it was entirely in need of. However, many of us are less than enthusiastic with the results and find it, well, pretty damn ugly. Many aired some complaints, but in one pointed response i was told I am in no position to critique, let alone understand, "elegant html."

Now I'm not exactly a webmaster, but I have some experience, have made various pages and know my abc's. I also know that one of the complaints about the old site was that it was hard to read - however I can't for the life of me see how a dark background with grey text is any better. Even worse, if you look at it in Netscape, it's totally different than in Explorer.

Anyway, I understand as well as anybody the frustrations of design work, but can anyone offer their opinions on this page? Are we nuts to argue that it's hard on the eyes? What is with the 'box' for text? What's wrong with a simple left column for links and white background?

http://www.asu.edu/clas/history/

and this is an example along the lines of what we'd like to have implemented instead...

http://www.ou.edu/cas/history

Thanks to anyone willing to spare a minute to look at the site....

CharlesC
01-23-03, 10:43 AM
I don't think its bad at all.

I would just change the gray to white.

X
01-23-03, 12:13 PM
As for the ASU site, my Alma Mater...

I would make the text on the left gold to correspond with the school colors and the text of some of the sub-menus.

The area of text with the grey background just doesn't seem right going all the way to the right edge of the page. I'd stop it earlier and leave some background on the right side of it. Other than that, I don't think it's too bad. I kind of like the Graduate Program pages.