DVD Talk
Any consideration about selling pop-up [under] space to spam generators? [Archive] - DVD Talk Forum
 
Best Sellers
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
The Longest Day
Buy: $54.99 $24.99
9.
10.
DVD Blowouts
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99
8.
9.
10.

PDA
DVD Reviews

View Full Version : Any consideration about selling pop-up [under] space to spam generators?


Wizdar
12-02-02, 10:19 AM
Maybe this is more of a rant, but I’ll try to make it a reasonable question.

A few weeks ago I investigated a pop-under for yourfreedvd.com (or something like that). I should have known better than to enter my email address at the first page, but there it is. The site offered maybe a dozen different ways to get free DVDs, such as a long distance plan.

Since then, I’ve received spam from them on a daily basis. In addition, I’ve found myself getting spam from places I haven’t seen it from before. Up until then I was fairly spam free. (No, REALLY!) All the spam has an Austin, TX address.

I’m just wondering if there is any check on the intent of advertisers. I’m looking at this and realizing that it’s probably a stupid concept, but maybe I’m not the only one to be bit by this scam.

GeoffK
12-02-02, 11:34 AM
Some of the pop-unders on the site come from an ad network. It's thier job to make sure the ads that run are good and legit. I'll follow up with them about yourfreedvds and make sure the ads isn't running

Wizdar
12-02-02, 01:45 PM
Thanks, Geoff.

I’m not sure what you mean by “legit.” I’m pretty sure that I would have gotten my free DVD(s) if I had switched to Sprint (or whatever), if that’s what you’re talking about.

My complaint is their collecting my email addy to fuel their own spam machine. (Interesting idea, when you think about it.)

BTW, haven’t seen one of their pops in over a week. I guess they got what they wanted and left?

GeoffK
12-02-02, 07:08 PM
I actually checked and didn't even see them listed as an advertiser in the network. So I wonder if the popunder came on this site on not

mikehunt
12-02-02, 08:13 PM
that's why I never follow ads

Wizdar
12-02-02, 08:55 PM
Well, thanks for checking.

Wizdar
02-11-03, 12:45 PM
How about the one from http://visit.referralware.com/2/FreeOffer.jsp? Looks mighty fishy to me. It definately came from DVDTalk.